Oprah’s calling it a day in 2011



No way! I thought she’s be around forever! (Unrealistic, I know, but that’s just how it felt.) It’s just the 2009 pattern of stuff that you’d thought would go on into perpetuum  ending.

This is quite a long headsup, though. I hope the next year and heavy change leading up to it isn’t an extended and remixed dirge. I remember when the headmistress of my high school retired after an eon there, and there was a long, celebratory funeral march to the retirement Mass. It seemed like the whole year was dedicated to the one, simple act of leaving. It cast a shadow over everything (including my class’ graduation, which kind of pissed us off). If that’s how I felt about the headmistress’ retirement from a Catholic school, imagine how crap it is for me when the retirement is for friggin’ OPRAH. She’s like the headmistress of television. And that school in South Africa, but I digress…

I’m not one for extended goodbyes of this sort. Hopefully, I won’t be in the US for this footage. I was there for Michael Jackson, Ronald Reagan, all that good stuff. I can’t do it again.

Grindin’ My Way (Frank Sinatra vs. Clipse) by Team Canada

20 Responses to “Oprah’s calling it a day in 2011”


  1. 1 Kimi November 20, 2009 at 03:18

    It was bound to happen sometime, though her shows will be missed. Knowing Oprah she might think up something else to keep her name going. If someone else took over the show, it won’t be the same.

  2. 2 amherstdam November 20, 2009 at 03:26

    Yeah, it wouldn’t be Oprah. Might as well call it “some lady.” Has she ever take a day off from that show (during season)?

  3. 3 pandabox33 November 20, 2009 at 03:56

    I don’t know why I’m so shocked. I wish she would stay forever. I love her magazine.

    http://pandabox33.wordpress.com
    http://bazookah5.wordpress.com

  4. 4 themarriageclub November 20, 2009 at 03:58

    DID OPRAH REALLY SAY THIS OR IS SOMEBODY TRYING TO START A MEDIA BLISS, TOO MANY TIMES WE HEAR THESE STORIES ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT SOMETHING WAS TAKEN OUT OF CONTEXT TO SELL A NEWSPAPER OR BOOK.
    TIME WILL TELL, BUT I WILL CONTINUE TO LIVE MY LIFE TO THE FULLEST IN THE MEANTIME…ISN’T THIS SOMETHING THAT WE GOT FROM HER

  5. 5 Chris Bolmeier November 20, 2009 at 04:36

    It will be a refreshing change.

  6. 6 tadusack. November 20, 2009 at 05:15

    actually she shoots 2 episodes a day 3 days a week, so technically she’s off two days a week. Shooting a total of six episodes a week with only 5 broadcasted means that she’s got an EXTRA 52 episodes by the end of the year, or the ability to take off 52 days on top of the already 2 days a week she has off.

    So if you do the math oprah’s vacation time per year is:

    2 days / week x 52 weeks
    + 52 days (1 extra show per week taped)

    total 104 +52 = 156 days a year or 4.5 months a year.

    boo hoo.

  7. 7 murkmutt November 20, 2009 at 05:35

    I love the music version ofmy way.very nice! thumbs up!

  8. 8 Mary November 20, 2009 at 06:32

    Dear Oprah
    Thank you seems like not enough to say, for all you’ve given us.
    You will be missed, Thank-you and Best Wishes.

    Sincerely, Mary Brost

  9. 9 Thomas Stazyk November 20, 2009 at 06:43

    Oh no! Now people will have to think for themselves rather than being told what to read, eat, wear and think.

  10. 10 btngu35 November 20, 2009 at 09:29

    Good, she’s been shoving her own agenda on people for way too long. Maybe, now with her gone, people can formulate their own opinions on issues that are at hand in this country, in the world and even in our own homes.
    Although she’ll be off the air waves, I’m sure she’ll keep forcing herself and her point of views on people even after….sigh.
    Good bye Oprah, here is one person glad to see you go.

  11. 11 Nelle November 20, 2009 at 10:40

    i guess she’ll be leaving everything to ellen, their shows pretty much have the same formula and cater to the same target audience.

  12. 12 Thandie D. November 20, 2009 at 11:57

    This really sucks. I have been preparing myself for the day that I can work on the set of her show as a produver. I currently work for a live morning show in South Africa doing the same. I always feared that she’d retire before I make it there and that I’d never get a chance to learn from her. Wow. This is really the pits. Well, maybe I will still get a chance to at least meet her. We’ll see about that.

    She’s actually coming to South Africa in december but tickets to the dinner event are ridiculously expensive. Us foot soldiers would have to give up half our rent money just to get a glimpse, let alone a life-changing conversation that may just in fact lead one on the same path of television mogul-dom. Alas…one day.

    Until then, I’m going to enjoy every single broadcast of O-peazy’s show. Let’s not let the “obituary” begin now. She is still here! And even when she is no longer on our screens, we are glad that we can still enjoy and celebrate one of our biggest legends in other ways.

  13. 13 amherstdam November 20, 2009 at 11:59

    Don’t despair! She’s launching her own cable network. There’s still time :-)

  14. 14 Steven Harris November 20, 2009 at 12:35

    BRing back Rikki Lake. If, indeed, she ever went away.

  15. 15 Trutap November 20, 2009 at 12:36

    aawww there’s still more brain numbing to come? i got my hopes up for nothing. 2011 is such a long way from now.

  16. 16 amherstdam November 20, 2009 at 12:36

    Now that’s a great idea.

  17. 17 Pretty Project November 20, 2009 at 15:24

    Noooooo! My Oprah. What will I do without thee?! :(

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  18. 18 lifelessons4u November 20, 2009 at 15:36

    She will be missed. It’s kind of funny that some people feel so strongly about Oprah, as they say, “pushing her own agenda.” Well, it is her show! If you don’t like it, don’t watch it. You get your own show and you can talk about whatever you want. Oh, wait a minute, isn’t that also what bloggers do???

  19. 19 vodkabeforenoon November 20, 2009 at 15:37

    I am sure she is retiring from the show and not show business. More then likely she host some other show.
    Either that or maybe she plans on moving inside the white house with Obama. LOL

    http://anlimarey.wordpress.com/

  20. 20 Pie November 24, 2009 at 23:18

    I’m sure they’re old shows but if you want a Ricki Lake fix, you can catch her at 3.45pm weekdays on ITV2… after Jeremy Kyle.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
The Hype Machine mp3 blogs Questions? Comments? Post suggestions? Leave a comment or mail me at: amherstdam....(at)....gmail.com

