Monday’s Guilty Pleasure: Girl, You’re a Jerk

darth-vader

So I’m playing a jerk in some play; more specifically, I’m Duke Frederick in Leiden English Fresher’s As You Like It. In high school productions I was always cast as a clown/fool, so playing a major antagonist is a massive change for me. I’m trying to memorize my lines over the break, and I’m just struck by how much he speaks in this big, bossy blocks of texts. There’s barely any dialogue with any of the other characters at all. He’s kind of a dic(k)tator.

In honor of Duke Frederick, here’s Jerk by Muscles.

Jerk by Muscles

4 Responses to “Monday’s Guilty Pleasure: Girl, You’re a Jerk”


  1. 1 Nondescript Person January 15, 2009 at 03:29

    Thank your lucky stars you’re not playing a wuss; I’d play a jerk any day.

    By the bye, I’m totally in love with Muscles’ Sweaty… :)

    E.

  2. 2 amherstdam January 15, 2009 at 03:31

    Ironically, your character is all about: PEACE LOVE ECSTASY UNITY RESPECT. True story :-)

  3. 3 Nondescript Person January 15, 2009 at 18:06

    I know, right?

    But then again, I wear irony pretty well… :)

    E.

  4. 4 HFHT tctrvcfvt March 11, 2009 at 16:01

    Yeah duke Fred, I just started doing the play in my group And it’s awesome to finally be evil in Shakespeare!


Leave a Reply

