OK, konijntje, het is je dag vandaag

My friend Ashley sent me an article yesterday, and I meant to mention it. Apparently, a bunch of Dutch people (including the Prime Minister and heir to the throne) went over to New York to celebrate the 400th birthday of New York City. Way to trade places with me, guys. I’m guessing they went shopping, too.

I think the Dutch are still kicking themselves for selling New York for $24. (Stupid, stupid, stupid.) This explains why they constantly remind me that Harlem is named after Haarlem and Brooklyn, my hometown, is named after Breukelen. Oh, well.

Anyway, today’s song was a hit in Holland earlier this year. I still love it. It gts good after 0:15. And if anyone can recommend some new Dutch techno/nederrap, I’d appreciate it!

Download Konijntje (Remix) by AKA The Junkies

6 Responses to “OK, konijntje, het is je dag vandaag”


  1. 1 Rob September 29, 2008 at 12:00

    And Yankees derrives from Jan-Kees, a double dutch name… it’s true :)

  2. 2 amherstdam September 30, 2008 at 01:31

    New York is drowning in Dutch, but no one at home speaks it. It’s really weird.

  3. 4 amherstdam October 4, 2008 at 10:22

    Me, too:-) This remix makes it sound like the laid back Dutch response to “Satisfaction”

  4. 5 Mikko October 19, 2008 at 22:32

    I believe the Dutch bought Manhattan from the native-Americans for 24 dollars. What they got for exhange from the British was the tiny island called Pulau Run in what is now Indonesia and some other tropical specks of land.

    Just had to bring this up since I’m studying Indonesian studies in Leiden (living in the same building as you) and think the story is quite amusing…

    Nice blog, btw! Found it by accident… Catch you in the bike alley or somewhere! Don’t run over me…

  5. 6 amherstdam October 19, 2008 at 22:44

    Really? I thought they traded Manhattan for Suriname…
    See you around!:-)


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
The Hype Machine mp3 blogs Questions? Comments? Post suggestions? Leave a comment or mail me at: amherstdam....(at)....gmail.com

