Oh, darn.

I just realized that I won’t be around for the American election in November. As exciting as it’ll be, I am relieved that I will be spared of the overkill coverage. I’ve been avoiding CNN, but I still wake up to NPR, which is always “Clinton-this” or “Obama-that.” After a while, it became nerve-wracking. I’ve also grown tired of defending my choices and hearing other people defend theirs, whatever they may be. I have no problem with debate or intellectual discourse, but this has gone on for too long. We need something new to talk about. I either end up talking about the election, or the horrible gas prices. And I don’t even drive a car!

Being in a different country will, hopefully, allow me to ration out the news that I receive. I can turn the computer on, look at the news sites, and then turn it right off. No bombardment. I’d rather enjoy the glow of the fireplace rather than the flames. Hopefully, things will work out the way I want.

2 Responses to “Oh, darn.”


  1. 1 Talulazoeapple June 7, 2008 at 17:11

    I understand about the oversaturated political coverage. How is Amsterdam? I am an american and desperately seeking Europe.

    http://www.talulazoeapple.com

  2. 2 amherstdam June 7, 2008 at 18:54

    Amsterdam is not too bad. For one thing, few newspapers are in English, and are mostly concerned with Dutch things. There’s little punditry unless something huge happens.


Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
The Hype Machine mp3 blogs Questions? Comments? Post suggestions? Leave a comment or mail me at: amherstdam....(at)....gmail.com

