IPod Touch


Dutch Word of the Day
twijfels:
doubts
Ik heb twijfels aan dit.

I have doubts about this.

Sorry for the break yesterday. Anyway, as you know, I’m something of an iPod junkie. I am unapologetic about this. Yes, my headphones are huge. Yes I do listen to the damn thing all the time. Well, maybe I just prefer my own soundtrack to hear the cacophonous, unedited rotating buzz of the same 1,600 people around me. Ever thought of that? I like having all my music in a tiny box, I’m very spoiled that way. I don’t care much for the video features, just give me that audio.

That said, I am not thrilled about this iPod touch crap. Yeah,the New York Times looks cute on it, but it appears to be a scratch fest waiting to happen, much like the iPhone. Hopefully, Apple beefed up the screen glass or their cases. But you know what they can’t beef up? Lithium batteries. Battery technology is terrible. The life diminishes with every keystroke. It will also go down hill even faster when you’re, oh, I don’t know, using your iPod to go on the weak wifi internet or watching a music video. They keep throwing in all these features (“It slices! It dices! It empties the litter box!”) without having proper means of support. It’s like making a flying car without inventing proper fuel.

I think the best pretentious Steve Job conference would be if he just announced a new battery. Nothing sleek, nothing flashy, just, “Hey, guess what? This won’t die so fast. We’re putting it in everything.” That would be remarkable. I don’t know if they’ll get around to that soon. I wish they would.

But the 160 GB on the iPod classic? That’s just sexy. Well done. I’ve got a little under 3000 songs on a 30 GB, so I’m at half capacity. But I don’t know how long that’ll last. I’m very happy with the iPod I have now. We’ve been through some rough times. But when it goes, I’m glad to know that something with more capacity (and probably cheaper) is waiting for me.

1 Response to “IPod Touch”


  1. 1 phil September 5, 2007 at 15:17

    it’s kind of comical. the ipod in its original manifestation is amazing; no bulky cd player with accompanying bulky accordion, plus you can listen to unlimited albums without having to make mix tapes. the podcasts I admit are genius as well. but all the other stuff, the photos and games and videos, it’s so unnecessary. who wants to read the news on an iphone when you already have an ibook? the ipod would still be selling like hotcakes, so I get the impression Apple is just running out of things to do…


Leave a Reply

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
The Hype Machine mp3 blogs Questions? Comments? Post suggestions? Leave a comment or mail me at: amherstdam....(at)....gmail.com

