Other Half of the Namesake

Dutch Word of the Day
tijd:
time
Goede tijden.

Good times.

I seem to have forgotten to mention the other half of this blog’s namesake: Amherst. Amsterdam is a much more interesting place, let’s not kid ourselves. Amherst, like most other schools, is a blank slate that gets interesting 9 months out of the year when you throw some staff, teachers, students, and booze (not at the same time) on it and watch what happens. Very different to my four months in Am-dam.

None of the buildings, to my great and continuous disappointment, have any Dutch names attached to them. It’s all “Pratt-Pratt-Williston-Keefe-Fayerwether-Pratt.” I’d be content with a stray “Vanderbilt”, but that’s not going to happen anytime soon.

I didn’t bring much in the way of decoration except for a bunch of things from my time in the Netherlands, so it looks like the Dutch consulate spat up a little on my walls. I’ve got a map of the Netherlands and Belgium, an Aruban flag, and Dutch Antillean flag and a huge Amsterdam Flag.

Not on the walls: lovely delft kitsch (see above), my bottle opener from the Heineken experience, a shot glass, and a little English rugby ball. I wish the flask was from Amsterdam, that would be the only way to make it cooler. I think it’s too beautiful to be used, don’t you?

1 Response to “Other Half of the Namesake”


  1. 1 neddies May 15, 2008 at 15:27

    netherland is a great and tollerant country


Leave a Reply

