Let’s keep this ball rolling


Dutch Word of the Day
vrolijk:
happy, also slang for gay
Vrolijk Maandag!

Happy Monday!

I had a case of the jury duty today. I’ve mentioned this previously, but jury duty doesn’t exist in the Netherlands. Just saying.

Anyway: my mooi vrouw for today is Rachel Maddow. Sure, I’m mad at her because her eponymous Air America show is no longer a free podcast. But that’s OK because she’s just so darn smart! I’m serious. She’s got a mind like a trap. Watch her on The Situation with Tucker Carlson or when she randomly shows up on Paula Zahn Now. She’s got a great approach to arguing without putting other people down, yet still coming out on top.

She’s very left leaning, but also not afraid to criticize and point out when the left goes wrong. (see above video) Maybe I might pay for that podcast after all…

2 Responses to “Let’s keep this ball rolling”


  1. 1 RRE August 14, 2007 at 01:13

    Frolicking is a cool anglization of vrolijk.
    Merry play. I always imagine frolicking dogs when I hear vrolijk.

  2. 2 amherstdam August 14, 2007 at 21:25

    Weird… I totally did not connect it to frolick! Of course.


Leave a Reply

