I can has automat?


Dutch Word of the Day
om te beweren: to pretend
Zij moeten ophouden bewerend te Febo zijn.
(Update: The correct sentence is “zij moeten ermee ophouden te doen alsof ze Febo zijn”. )
They must stop pretending to be Febo.

(By the way, could someone fire me a correct sentence? This can’t be right.)

So there’s a Febo-esque automat on Saint Mark’s Place called “BAMN!”. It looks like a cleaner, pink version of the one’s I saw in Amsterdam. It’s all coin operated, which is all well and good when you’re dealing with euros, but a little hassle with dollars. (Since single and 2 euros are all in coins, whereas we have single dollar bills and cumbersome numbers of quarters, dimes and nickels.) The funny thing is that they have “krokets” with the Dutch spelling. I’m tempted to buy one in order to dissect and compare it with the one I tried in Holland. (Note the singular.)

I can say this now without any bias: Antillean krokets are ten million times better than the Dutch ones. They’re more solid, taste better and won’t drip when you bite into them. The Dutch ones have this soupy pale filling that I can’t stand. The only good thing is their exterior. As for their New York counterparts? Stay tuned.

4 Responses to “I can has automat?”


  1. 1 Anonymous August 6, 2007 at 20:30

    haha, I just had a blast reading your comments on life in ‘my’ city! The differences you note really surprise me, I never thought of some of the things we do here as being ‘awkward’ :-)

    Anyway, let me try and give you a correct sentence:

    “They must stop pretending to be Febo”. “Zij moeten ermee ophouden te beweren Febo te zijn” would be grammatically correct, but no one says that. We would probably say

    “zij moeten ermee ophouden te doen alsof ze Febo zijn”.

    Te doen alsof = to act as though, so: “they should stop acting as though they are Febo.”

    Where is Amherst again? I spent a year in Springfield, MA, it’s somewhere near there, right?

  2. 2 lb August 7, 2007 at 02:42

    Yay! Thanks for the help! It’s so hard to get idioms. Yeah, Amherst is in Western Mass, about an hour or so from Springfield. Not as isolated as Williamstown, though.

  3. 3 Maria Segala August 8, 2007 at 00:58

    I totally saw this in NYC this past weekend, (I was in the village, but I think I saw one more uptown) and I was befuddled. And not in the best way. Then I had to tell my friend about the one time I ate from Febo, and how I was surely not drunk enough to be eating that.

  4. 4 amherstdam August 8, 2007 at 03:25

    I’m afraid to try a New York Febo. it’s just too much for me…


Leave a Reply

