Two Things I Wish I had Pictures of:


Dutch Word of the Day
lelijk:
ugly
Dat is veel lelijk…maar veel leuk!
That is so ugly… but so cute!

There seems to be an ugly-cute theme to today. Here are two reasons why I wish I had my camera with me:

1. The scary huge eyes of this creepy baby at Coffee Company. I was waiting on line behind his/her mother who had the baby in one of those Baby Bjorn carriers. She suddenly turns sideways and I see this tiny, tiny baby with these huge radioactive green eyes just staring at me. After a while it started smiling and gurgling, but it still looked frightening as hell. Kind of wanted to run, but I waved at it instead. “Niiiice baby…yeah, don’t bite me.”

2. A man smacking his pug in the face. It was starting to drizzle and the pug was starting to bark and complain, when his owner (who’s this very fussy looking short guy who’s already carrying the dog) goes, “Ssh!” and gives him a sharp little smack on the nose. Yes, I did give him a look and yes, he did seem rather guilty.*

*Apparently, pug dogs became the official breed of the Dutch Royal Family after one of the breed saved the life of William, Prince of Orange, by giving alarm at the approach of the Spaniards in 1572. And they’re one of my favorites breeds, too.

1 Response to “Two Things I Wish I had Pictures of:”


  1. 1 Bogdan May 7, 2007 at 23:16

    I so wish you took


Leave a Reply

