It’s like a jungle sometimes, it makes me wonder how I keep from going under

Dutch Word of the Day
duwen: push
Niet duwen mij, daar ik ben vlakbij de scheperte…
Don’t push me, ’cause I’m close to the edge…

Like many of their Western European counterparts (i.e. the English, the French), the Dutch often labor under the delusion that they are living in New York in the 1980’s. As a result, there are random spots of graffiti around town. I found a wall containing this keffiyeh wearing Anne Frank near the Jordaan.

Not quite sure how I feel about this one. It’s hard to tell whether they’re commenting on how the scarf is an overused fashion statement around here, or statement about the Israeli/Palestinian conflict.

Kind of weird to put her in the PLO, isn’t it? Um, she’s 12.

3 Responses to “It’s like a jungle sometimes, it makes me wonder how I keep from going under”


  1. 1 Cassandra July 9, 2007 at 21:03

    WEIRD???? That doesn’t begin to cover it …

  2. 2 Urban Infidel July 10, 2007 at 00:27

    It’s not because she’s 12 either.

    Sad that this would come from the Netherlands.

    I linked you, btw.

  3. 3 Pim's Ghost July 17, 2007 at 15:26

    Great Blog! Of course, I’m addicted to all things Dutch. Go figure.

    This post has rather inspired me to a photoshop of my own this morning, and I thank both you and Urban Infidel for this inspiration….HAHAHA


Leave a Reply

