Dutch Word of the Day gracht: city canal Dit is m…


Dutch Word of the Day
gracht: city canal
Dit is mijn gracht.
This is my canal.

This is what the Prinsengracht looks like near the Anne Frank Huis, which is a block from me.

Quick language note: the canals within the city are called grachts, the ones outside the city are simply canals. I bought a ton of things today, including a cellphone, a toaster, textbook, notebooks and some groceries. I walked a whole lot cause I didn’t want to waste my strippenkaart (their equivalent of a metrocard, though not as effiecient as ours. Some kind of party tonight sponsored by the ISN. I don’t know if I’ll go. I’ve been a lameass about parties and orientation events, but I’m still a little jetlagged.

I won a bike lottery so I’m getting one soon. That means I can join the citizen run roving death squads that patrol the streets.

Nap time!

0 Responses to “Dutch Word of the Day gracht: city canal Dit is m…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

